Navpatrika Puja Special: Know Shubh Muhurat, Puja Vidhi and Rituals!

Where the tradition of Kalaparmbha is followed on the sixth day of Durga Puja, on the other, the tradition of Navpatrika is followed on the seventh day. Navpatrika is also known as Nabapatrika Puja at certain places. Let us know through this blog about the significance of the worship of this day and associated Shubh Muhurat.

Talk To Astrologers On Call @ AstroSage Varta

First of all, let us talk about the name of this worship. Navpatrika is a combination of two words. Nav means nine and Patrika means leaves. Let us know in detail pertaining to Navpatrika Pujan.  

Navpatrika is a combination of nine leaves. Read this blog till the end to know about those nine leaves and their significance. These leaves are used in the worship of Maa Durga. Nabapatrika Puja is celebrated mainly in Bengal, Orissa and Eastern India regions.

Navpatrika Puja is also known as Maha Saptami. It is said that it is the first day of Durga Puja. After this, Navpatrika is placed in Durga Pandal on Maha Saptami. This year, Navpatrika Puja is going to be performed on October 22, 2020.

Most Accurate Career Counselling For You: CogniAstro Professional Report

Religious Significance of Navpatrika Pujan

Navpatrika Pujan is also known by the name of Kolabau Puja at certain places. The ritual of Navpatrika is also performed by the farmers. During this, they do not worship any idol of the goddess and wish only for a healthy harvest. During the winter season, the worship of Navpatrika is performed at the time of reaping of crops. Not only this, people of Bengal and Orissa venerate Maa Durga by combining nine leaves.

  250+ Pages Personalised AstroSage Brihat Horoscope for your pleasant life!

Significance Concerning Nine Leaves of Nabapatrika

Every leaf, which is used during the Navpatrika Puja, is considered to be a different incarnation of Maa Durga. You must be knowing that all the nine incarnations of Maa Durga are venerated during Navratri. Let us know what these nine leaves are. The leaves are: Banana, Kachvi, Turmeric (Haldi), Pomegranate, Ashoka, Manka, Paddy, Bilva and Barley.

  • Banana – Banana tree and its leaves depict Brahmani Devi 
  • Kachvi – It represents Maa Kali. It is also called Kachi.
  • Turmeric (Haldi) – Leaves of turmeric represent Maa Durga.
  • Barley – It represents Maa Karttika.
  • Bel Patra – Wood apple or Bilva represents Lord Shiva. It is also called Bel Patra 
  • Pomegranate – It is also known as Dadi Maa. It represents Raktadantika.
  • Ashoka – The leaves of Ashoka represent Maa Sokrahita
  • Bead (Manka) – The bead is also known as Arum and it represents Chamunda Devi.
  • Paddy – It represents Maa Lakshmi.

Like this, these nine leaves represent all the nine incarnations of Maa Durga. These leaves are mainly used in worship.

Are you looking for a successful life? Raj Yoga Report has all answers!

Legend/Katha Associated with Nabapatrika Puja

Kolabou is considered to be a wife of Lord Ganesha. However, there are different views related to the same. In addition to this, there is also one more legend associated with Navpatrika Pujan. As per that legend, Kolabou, who is also named as Navpatrika, is a great follower of Maa Durga. She used to worship all the nine incarnations of Maa Durga with all different leaves of the tree.

The worship of Maha Saptami commences after the Maha Snaan. It is also called Kolabou Snaan. Maha Snaan has a great significance on this day. It is believed that whosoever participates in this, remains blessed under the grace of Maa Durga.

Navpatrika Pujan Vidhi

  • First of all, all the nine leaves to be used in the worship are tied together and then, they are dipped in the holy river. 
  • Taking a bath in the holy river along with this Navpatrika holds immeasurable significance. If it is not possible to take a bath in the river, then you can do the same at home. After this, sprinkle water with these nine leaves.
  • After this, Navpatrika is made sacred with several holy waters. In the first step, holy Ganga Jal is used. In the second step, rainwater is used. In the third step, water from the Saraswati river is taken. In the fourth step, water is taken from the sea. In the fifth step, pond water is taken with lotus and finally, water from spring is used.    

After taking a bath, women are dressed up in a white saree with red border. Navpatrika is also adorned with the same saree. Then, it is also decorated with a garland of flowers. It is said that Navpatrika must be adorned like a Bengali bride.

After Maha Snaan, Praan Pratishtha is performed. After cleaning the place of worship, establish an idol of Maa Durga and decorate this place with colourful flowers and lights.

After Praan Pratishtha, Shodashopachara Puja is performed. During this, Maa Durga is venerated with sixteen different things. After this, the idol of Navpatrika is established. Then, it is worshipped after applying Chandan and offering flowers. Then, the idol of Lord Ganesha is placed on the right side. Maha Aarti of Maa Durga is performed at the end and finally, Prasad is distributed.

Click here to know the details on Indian Holidays 2020

Durga Puja

In Bengal, Durga Puja is celebrated with great pomp and show. Here, Pandal (huge tent) is set up and idols of different incarnations of Maa Durga are decorated. During Navratri, a different view is seen. People from far off places come to have a Darshan of different incarnations of Maa Durga. During these days, it is believed that Maa Durga descends on Earth from Mount Kailash to stay with her devotees.  

During this, Maa Durga appears on the earth with Maa Lakshmi, Maa Saraswati, Kartik and Ganesha. The first day of Durga Puja belongs to Mahalaya in which Tarpan is performed. It is said that a fierce fight took place between gods and demons in which many gods and sages were killed and therefore, Mahalaya is organised to perform Tarpan for them. After this, Durga Puja commences from the Shashti Tithi and on this very day, Maa Durga descended on Earth. 

Saptami is organised on the very next day. This day, the Puja of Navpatrika or Kolabou is performed. Then, Ashtami is considered to be the main day for Durga Puja. This day, Sandhi Puja is performed and also, it lasts till Navami.

The last 24 minutes of Sandhi Puja on Ashtami and the starting 24 minutes before the beginning of Navami is called Sandhiksha. It is the same time when Maa Durga killed demons named Chand and Mund. After this, Dashami or Vijayadashami falls. 

After the worship on Dashami, immerse the idol of Maa Durga. It is said that after Dashami, Maa Durga returns to Mount Kailash with her family.

For Astrological Remedies including Gemstones, Yantra, etc., Visit: AstroSage Online Shopping Store

Hope you would like the information cited above on Nabapatrika Puja. Thank you for being with AstroSage!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.